Home > Uncategorized > Wake Up and Fight

Wake Up and Fight

 

I saw this today.  These are some New Years Resolutions of Woody Guthrie’s. The simplicity of some are so touching.  For example, change socks, or listen to radio a lot.  But, others hit deep at the core of me.  Especially in the context of what has been happening in my life recently.

1. Work More and Better: My professional life right now sucks.  Subbing is about as close to soul sucking as you could get.  Therefore, for me, the work more and better is focused on some specific goals.  I will push myself to read and write more.  I’ve been doing good on the reading, now it is time to really get down to the writing.  With major things coming up in my world (job search, Scott Walker Recall, fighting for our public schools) I want to do my best at these tasks.

8. Relatedly, I want to try to write a blog post a day.  It doesn’t have to be long, or even consistently serious, I just need to keep moving forward.  Keep writing. Keep thinking.

13.  READ: I’ve got this covered.  As a social studies teacher, I push myself to read and read everything.  I don’t want to just know about history.  I want to know about everything.  I also make sure I read sources that are of varying opinions.  Rigid ideology hath no home with me.  I have deep morals and ethics, but I am not so full of myself to claim ultimate superiority of thought.

15. Learn People Better:  I, like many people, should constantly be working on this.  It is no good to demonize those we disagree with.  We can and will get nowhere fast doing this.  With the upcoming recalls in Wisconsin it is important that those fighting to recall Walker don’t stoop to the level of name calling and demonizing.  Act with dignity and class and you will be heard and respected.  There will be some who demonize us and already have, but pay them no worry.  It’s through constant dialogue that you will gain supporters not name calling.

19 and 20: Keep Hoping Machine Running and Dream Good.  Everyday I dream about having the rights of teachers restored.  Our educational system is in dire times and politicians with no teaching experience are trying to dictate how it should work.  Trust teachers.  We won’t disappoint you, if you would just get out of the way.

33.  Wake Up and Fight: New life motto.  Fight for my job.  Fight for the rights I deserve in that job.  Fight for students.  Fight for all people.

Woody says it best:

Wherever there’s somebody fightin’ for a place to stand
Or decent job or a helpin’ hand
Wherever somebody’s strugglin’ to be free
Look in their eyes Mom you’ll see me.

 

  1. 07/27/2013 at 3:40 pm

    It’s going to be end of mine day, however before finish I am reading this wonderful piece of writing to improve my experience.

  1. 02/19/2012 at 3:03 pm

Leave a Reply

