Home > Uncategorized > If I’m Crazy, Can I Complain? Jared Loughner Edition

If I’m Crazy, Can I Complain? Jared Loughner Edition

Jared Loughner has been ruled unfit for trial.  I’m not surprised by this, but one thing had me surprised:

Judge Burns said during the hearing that he had received two letters from Mr. Loughner since his arrest, both complaining about his legal representation. The judge told Mr. Loughner’s court-appointed lawyer, Judy Clarke, that he did not intend to take up the issues in the letters because he considered them a consequence of Mr. Loughner’s mental illness.

I’m not a lawyer or well versed in law, but I would think that if Loughner has complaints about his representation that it would be hard to discredit them because of his mental illness. That’s a pretty subjective issue there. I would be interested to see what the letters actually said.  This would really clear things up.  The question I have is even if somebody is declared unfit for trial, why wouldn’t they be allowed to question their counsel?

For a good read on civil liberties and mental illness see Greenwald.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

